Inspiring a love of learning since 1933
The Early Days
In 1933 Howard and Rubie Atchley founded the school on a 77-acre alfalfa farm.
The original name was the Circle Double A Green Fields Preparatory School for Boys.
The school opened with five students.
In 1979 the school was renamed Green Fields Country Day School. Astronaut Dick Gordon dedicated the new gym in 1987. Green Fields was the first school in the United States to form an exchange program with students in the former Soviet Union.
The 21st Century
Today, Green Fields offers a balance between the traditions of the past and preparation for the future. Academic rigor, well roundedness of experience, individualized instruction and small class size were the foundation of our reputation in 1933 and remain essential today.